Skip to Main Content

Mount Sion iCentre: Information Literacy

Junior School Library Services Home

   

Use this online referencing tool to create your reference list

Online APA Referencing Tool

Another Online Referencing Tool

Trove is an Australian database which you can search for online content. You can find primary sources including images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives. Find instructions on using Trove here.

Referencing And Citations

 

What Is Referencing?

Referencing is the way that you describe the sources of information and ideas that you use in your assignments.
 

Why do I need to reference?

  • To indicate where you get your information/ideas from.
  • So the reader can verify your sources.
  • To avoid plagiarism.   Plagiarism is when a person tries to present someone else's work as their own.  Penalties for plagiarism can include loss of marks or failing the subject.
     

What do I have to reference?

  • If you have used anything in your assignment that was originally written or created by someone else, you must reference it. 
  • This does not just mean direct quotes... it also includes any ideas you have paraphrased or summarised
  • It applies to anything you use - graphs, statistics, images etc.
     

 

What's the difference between a reference list and a bibliography?

A reference list lists the sources you refer to in your writing.

The purpose of the reference list is to allow your sources to be be found by your reader.  It also gives credit to authors you have consulted for their ideas.  All references cited in the text must appear in the reference list, except for personal communications (such as conversations or emails) which cannot be retrieved.  

bibliography is different from a reference list as it lists all the sources used during your research and background reading, not just the ones you refer to in your writing.

What are in-text citations?

Every time you paraphrase or use an idea from another source you must include an in-text citation to that source. The general format is: (Author's surname, Year)

For example: Australian education providers will need to address a number of challenges to ensure standards of special education are fully supporting students with special needs and their families (Dempsey, 2012).

 

Boolean Operators

Are you finding too much information or perhaps not finding enough?

What we usually do is enter a couple of keywords into the search box of google! This strategy, however, will often result in too few, too many, or irrelevant results.

Boolean Operators will reduce the number of results you get, making your research more efficient and the information you find more relevant.

 

The most Commonly Used Boolean Operators

AND

AND joins two or more concepts by telling the database that both/all of these keywords must appear in the search results.

 

OR

OR joins two or more keywords for the same concept by telling the database that one or more of them must appear in the search results. It is useful when you have multiple ways of saying the same thing, such as measles OR "chicken pox"

 

NOT

Using NOT will exclude results with the term following NOT. it is useful when you want information on a topic that excludes common results.

Example: 'civil rights NOT American' if you wanted to research other countries with similar struggles.


Other useful Boolean Operators: 

"Quotation Marks"

Quotation marks tell the database to take the phrase as a whole, and search for the words together, and in order.

Example: Searching 'famous football players'

Without quotation marks, the database finds the word famous and football and players separately. You might get search results about any number of famous people or general information about football or players of any type of sport or game!

With quotation marks, the database ignores articles that do not contain the exact phrase "famous football players". 


Asterisk*

The asterisk (*) is a kind of wild card that tells the database to find multiple "endings" of a word.

Example: Searching service.

Without an asterisk, you get only service, but not serve or servicing or serviceable.

 

APA 7th Edition

ATC students use the APA 7th citation style to reference their sources. Check out the resources about referencing with APA 7th below.

The Dewey Decimal System

Dewey Decimal Classification was created in 1876 by Melvil Dewey. It is used for NON FICTION books in our library.

Before the DDC was invented, libraries had items on the shelf in the order they were acquired, which could make it difficult to fine what you were looking for.  Dewey Decimal Classification provides a structure for labeling items so that they will sit with items of the same or similar topics on the shelf.

Dewey has 10 broad classifications:

  • 000 - 099 = General Works, Computer Science & Information
  • 100 - 199 = Philosophy & Psychology
  • 200 - 299 = Religion
  • 300 - 399 = Social sciences
  • 400 - 499 = Language
  • 500 - 599 = Science
  • 600 - 699 = Technology
  • 700 - 799 = Arts & recreation
  • 800 - 899 = Literature
  • 900 - 999 = History & Geography

 

Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism is defined as: "To take (the work or an idea of someone else) and pass it off as one's own."
(From The Concise Oxford English Dictionary in English Dictionaries & Thesauruses)

 

Types of Plagiarism 

  • Directly quoting other people's words from online or printed sources without acknowledgement (you also need to acknowledge using images, tables, graphs, statistics, videos, music, formulae, laboratory data)
  • Paraphrasing or summarising someone else’s thoughts or ideas without crediting and citing your source (even using someone else’s ideas and rewriting it in your own words needs to be referenced)
  • Careless or incomplete referencing of your source
  • Copying or buying an essay and handing it in as your own work
  • Falsely creating a reference that doesn't exist
  • Presenting another students’ research data as your own
  • Collusion - presenting an assignment as your own independent work when it has been produced in whole or part with other people (for example another student or tutor).

 

 Plagiarism May Be

  • Deliberate (eg. buying an essay and submitting it as your own work)
  • Accidental (eg. incorrectly referencing the work of others because of carelessness or lack of academic skills)

 The consequences for plagiarism apply even for unintentional plagiarism

 

 How Do Students Avoid Plagiarism?

  • Give credit to the source, even when paraphrasing.
  • Use quotation marks when using another’s words and give credit to  that source. use their own words as much as possible when writing. The easiest way to not be tempted to plagiarize words is to take notes in phrases—no matter how eloquent the writer is. 
  • Learn the correct way to cite an electronic source which includes listing the web address in the sources.
  • Learn the correct way to document sources. Teachers will help with his process. As well, many handbooks available in school, the library, and in bookstores give directions for citing sources correctly.

Copyright

What is Copyright?

Copyright deals with rights assigned to creators/copyright owners of original works (literary, artistic, creative or musical, computer software/programs, etc). It is part of Intellectual Property.

According to IP Australia:
“Copyright protects the original expression of ideas, not the ideas themselves. It is free and automatically safeguards your original works of art and literature, music, films, sound recording, broadcasts and computer programs from copying and certain other uses”.  

Even if you do not see the copyright symbol, it does not mean that a resource is copyright free.  Copyright covers what is copied, communicated, reproduced, adapted and performed. The duration of copyright varies, check the Copyright Agency Limited (CAL) site for more details.

Creators of original works have moral rights, which are the right of attribution and the right to have the integrity of their work retained. 

Check out this video for more information

 

Where To Check For Copyright Information

Print Book

  • The copyright information of a publication is usually listed on theverso (back page) of the title page.

Print journal

  • Check the information on the publisher's page (or website).

Website/Online Content -  eg websites and YouTube

  • Check if the content is from an authorised or credible source.
  • Check copyright information page on the website for example look for © at the bottom of a web page or in the FAQs.


References:

Australian Copyright Council http://www.copyright.org.au.

Copyright Agency Limited http://www.copyright.com.au.

IP Australia. Copyright. Retrieved from https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/.

Information source : Australian Catholic University

Copyright Friendly Resources

PLEASE NOTE:  Most of the media in these collections are attached to generous copyright licensing. Though you may not need to ask permission to use them when publishing on the Web for educational purposes, you should cite or attribute these images to their creators unless otherwise notified! If you see any copyright notices on these pages, read them for further instructions.


MUSIC

Freeplay Music                
​You need to create an account to use this site.  Use your school email address.                                                               

Purple Planet royalty free music
Select the Royalty Free music.

Incompetech

Educational Cyber Playground Music Channel

​Links to lots of music sites that are free to use for education purposes.  You need to cite where you get your music from.  Most sites also require you to log in.


SOUND EFFECTS

Sound Jay

JL Recording Studios

Sound Bible  - a good site.  Use the search box to find the sound you are after.


IMAGES

Flickr Commons - an image database.

Photos for Class - the attribution is attached to the image when you download it.

Pixabay - these images are free of copyright licences.

Pics4learning.com - free, copyright friendly images for education.
If this link doesn't work - try Pics4learning.

Creative Commons - database of images and photos

everystockphoto - digital photo library.